Miracles Happen at the MTC

Hello everyone!  Firstly, thank you all for your love and support! I love hearing from all of you and if you ever worry that I don’t want to hear from you or that what you have to say to me about your life is not important then know that that’s not true! I love hearing from you all. It cheers my day–ALWAYS! 🙂

What’s that you say? I have a violin in my hand for the first time in over a month! That’s right. So, here’s the funny story from the week. Two Wednesdays ago, Sister Burgess, the MTC president’s wife, (in the picture behind me) came into our lowly Finnish classroom. I was quote surprised to see her up close, but said hello happily. “Is Sister Adams here?” she asked. “Yes! That’s me,” I responded perplexed. “Someone told me you play the violin. Is that true?” I told her it was.
Violin Miracle

Violin Miracle

She then asked if I would sign up for the MTC music auditions the next day. Very surprised, I accepted immediately. What else can you do when the MTC Relief Society President specifically asks you to come play? So the next day Sister Jones and I went to auditions just to find out that you had to have your song prepared already (makes sense). I checked out a violin and music, and did some practicing so I could audition the following week. Upon returning to the music room, I was greeted by Sister Bertasso, the wife of one of the counselors. “Oh! Sister Adams! We’ve been wondering when you were coming all day! Sister Burgess was worried you weren’t coming.” (Keep in mind I had never met either of these women in my life.) A bit shocked again, I reassured her that I would be auditioning the next week when my piece was ready.  She smiled and relayed the message to Sister Burgess. Quite perplexed but very grateful for the opportunity, I resolved to make “Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing” sound as good as possible. Well, I guess they liked it because I was invited to play in the Senior Missionary Welcome Meeting this past Monday. When I asked Sister Burgess who told her I played she just looked at me coyly and said, “Miracles happen at the MTC.” Oh my. Haha.
Click Come Thou Font of Every Blessing to hear the Mormon Tabernacle Choir and Orchestra perform it.
In other news, our investigator, Karina, committed to baptism this week! She’s coming along quite nicely. Apparently, if we had asked her to be baptized the very first lesson she would have said yes! That’s just a lesson to us that we need to be bold and loving, but not overbearing. We still have so much to teach Karina, and now that she’s committed to baptism it’s even more important that we teach her well enough that she really understands. 🙂 Our other investigator, Renee, is also progressing really well.
One of the lessons I’m learning is that investigators usually have a lot of thoughts going around their heads. Sometimes I just need to stop talking and ask what’s on their minds!
Life here is good and we got to hear from a member of the presidency of the Seventy, L. Whitney Clayton. It was inspiring. 🙂
It’s fun to have the six Hungarian sisters with us now. We love them so much! Please pray for them! 🙂
I’m short on time today, but I love you all and you’re in my thoughts and prayers!
Love always,
Sister Katriina Adams

Sisar Adams
Leave a Reply

