The Gospel–a Light Despite Weather

Hello friends and family!

This week has been a warm week in Jyväskylä–up to 65 degrees Farenheit! And we went without coats! What? 🙂 It’s so nice to have the sun out again and the birds chirping in the trees. It was so beautiful that Sister Yost and I even packed a picnic lunch yesterday and ate outside on a bench between a lesson and our appointment with tracting 🙂

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

It’s been a miraculous week in finding some new investigators. It’s been a testimony to me that God is always preparing people and we always need to be ready to find them. As we’ve had a few lessons in our chapel I’ve really felt the Spirit strongly and it reminds me of all of the times I, myself, have been blessed by being a part of Jesus Christ’s true, restored church.
This week I’ve been especially grateful for my parents and how they raised me to follow the example of Jesus Christ in all that I do. Despite times of heartache and trouble, I always have someone to turn to who has been there for me my entire life. The beauty of being a missionary is that I can teach others the same thing and it helps me realize that I can’t take for granted the lessons I’ve learned and the things I’ve been taught. It’s so true that the Spirit will bring certain things to our remembrance when we need them. I’ve found this week as Sister Yost and I have diligently prayed and prepared to teach our investigators, experiences from our own lives will be brought to our minds as we teach, for the benefit of our investigators.
Just last night we had the opportunity to watch “Meet the Mormons,” a church-produced film about the lives of members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints throughout the world, with our investigator for Family Home Evening. It is an inspired movie! As we watched the portion about Gail Halvorsen, the “candy bomber” who flew over Berlin dropping candy to the children during World War II, it stuck out to me that although he is 92 years old (at least when the movie was made) he still remembers the things he learned in Sunday school as a boy. He said those things have always stuck with him and shaped the choices he has made.
I am personally grateful for the things I learn in Sunday school. Although it seems like such a simple thing to go to church on Sunday, it the very most important thing we can do with the Sabbath Day. As a missionary I’ve seen investigators’ eyes opened to the truths of the gospel of Jesus Christ during Sunday school, and as I have consistently learned of my Savior Jesus Christ each week at church, my own testimony in Him has been strengthened.
In this world of sin and confusion, the gospel of Jesus Christ burns brightly as the sun. But the beautiful thing about the gospel is that it isn’t conditional on the weather. Through wind and snow, and night and day, the gospel of Jesus Christ burns brightly. He is the light in the darkness. He is our succor, our Savior, our friend. He loves us and beckons unto us to come unto Him. But it’s up to us to make that decision.
As my parents always taught me, and I have chosen for myself, “Choose ye this day whom ye will serve, but as for me and my house we will serve the Lord.”
I know that Jesus Christ lives and that He loves us!
I hope you all have an excellent week and count the miracles that God works for you as you start them. 🙂 For they are many.
I love you all! I’m excited to see my family on Sunday via Skype!
With a skip in my step and a song in my heart,
Sisar Adams
Picture: This week was “Vappu” or May Day in Finland. This is Sister Yost and I at the ward party with “serpintines” around our necks. It’s a celebration of graduation and a worker’s holiday (you can Google it for more information.) Some kids here dressed up like it was Halloween!
We ate Finnish doughnuts and sausage! Makkara and munkkeja! And two or our wonderful investigators came!

Sisar Adams
Leave a Reply

