Happy Mother’s Day!

Hello kaikille! (To everyone!)
I love my family and I hope you all had a wonderful Mother’s Day! I was so happy to see my beautiful family and hear that they’re doing well. It’s the best thing as a missionary to see the hand of the Lord in your family’s life at home while you are in the field doing His work. 🙂 I love you all!
Well! This has been a fantastic week in weather, Finland, teaching, service, and spiritual growth! Not to mention Sister Yost and I stopped by a nearby “Grilli” (like an outdoor grill or food truck type of thing) to celebrate her one year in Finland! Crazy, right? We ate French fries doused in all kinds of sauce and salad! Very European! Sister Yost had to laugh because I was so shocked the lady was asking me questions about what I wanted on my fries (I thought I just order normal fries) that I just told her, yes! Put it all on! Sister Yost said, “That’s the first time I’ve seen you flustered with Finnish!” Haha, food vendor vocabulary just isn’t on my radar yet! But it tasted really good!
Well, I just want you all to know that miracles happen in Finland and this transfer I’ve been able to see many!
This week we were able to teach a referral from the Elders (maybe I talked about him last week) and when the members left his first two lessons with us they were almost in tears because he was so prepared. As we taught the Plan of Salvation, he had lots of questions about many things, but the Spirit had helped us prepare to be able to answer them during our companionship study, and answer them in Finnish (I’m gaining a real testimony of the importance AND blessings of preparation on my mission–I know this will make my Mom proud 🙂 ). We were also blessed to have wonderful members with us. It was amazing to me as I watched his countenance change while we taught and the Spirit helped us answer his questions. Each time he asked something I would think, oh boy, I hope this answer makes sense to him, and after we would answer it he just sat back to ponder for a moment and then would say, well that makes sense. It was such a privilege to teach such a prepared person! Next week he is unfortunately moving and says he needs to ponder these things before letting us refer him to other missionaries here in Finland so we will be checking back up with him later this week. Please pray for him to be able to have the desire to keep learning, but if not at this time that he will remember these things in his heart for another time. 🙂
As I was studying in Alma this week I had a complete attitude change to my goal to do the Lord’s will of “Teaching Repentance and Baptizing Converts.” That can sometimes seem like a little bit of an intimidating thing to do and we can all sometimes be a little bit like Jonah who was called to cry repentance unto the people of Ninevah. He was scared and tried to hide in a ship. The winds came upon the sea and he was thrown into the sea only to be swallowed by a whale, preserved by the Lord to do his mission still. But in Alma 36:24 it says  Yea, and from that time even until now, I have labored without ceasing, that I might bring souls unto repentance; that I might bring them to taste of the exceeding joy of which I did taste; that they might also be born of God, and be filled with the Holy Ghost.
Alma, himself, had once been a wicked man and he found the peace and solace of God by using the Atonement of Jesus Christ to seek forgiveness and repent of his sins. When he did so, he had joy as great as his sorrow had been and then from that time on he cried repentance unto the people so that they could have that same joy as him.
This is where my change of perspective came. Alma did not cry repentance unto the people because he wanted to condemn them, he did not cry repentance because he thought he was better than them (he himself had once been in their place), but rather he did it because he LOVED them. And he wanted them to “taste of the exceeding joy” which he had tasted. That’s exactly what I am hear to do as a missionary of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints and as a servant and representative of the Lord Jesus Christ. I am hear teaching other people to “hear the music of the gospel” and to find the exceedingly great joy that comes into each of our lives when we reevaluate our lives, and align our wills with Heavenly Father’s will for us. That is the central purpose of our lives.
I am not ashamed of the gospel of Jesus Christ for I know that through it we can all find the everlasting peace and joy that we seek. God knows us for He created us, and He knows how we can find happiness. It is by keeping His commandments.
During this Mother’s Day season I am especially grateful for my parents, and this week, especially my mom for teaching me to follow my Savior and Redeemer Jesus Christ. I am so blessed to have such a wonderful family! I love you all!
Thank you to everyone for your prayers! Heavenly Father needs all of our help in bringing souls unto Christ. You’re all doing a good job!
Lots of love!
Sister Adams

Picture: Biking! It’s getting so warm here! It’s been up to 80 degrees Farenheit!

DSCF3504

Sisar Adams
Leave a Reply

