“These were the [years] never to be forgotten.” -Oliver Cowdery

My dear family and friends!
Thank you to each of you for supporting me, cheering me on, following my mission, and developing your own testimonies! I love you all so much and I am so thankful for my time as a missionary here in the sacred land of my forefathers:Finland.
Throughout my mission I have served in Jyväskylä, one of the cities where my Papa served, then in Kerava where a good family friend served, then in Lahti, where my Mummo’s brother used to live, then in Lappeenranta, the closest place I could have gotten to my Mummo’s birthplace, and finally here in beautiful Tampere where my Mummo grew up and joined the church. Also where my Papa and one of my uncles served.
I am eternally grateful for the chance to get closer to my family by being away from them, but by being in the places that mean so much to them. I have grown so much closer to my Savior Jesus Christ, my family roots, and to so many of the dear saints here in Finland. Throughout this time I have many so many of my own memories for which I will always be grateful. I have become a missionary, and I always intend to be one, with or without the name tag! I have become a new person. I know my life’s purpose, I know how to find happiness, and I am a better friend, companion, and family member because of that. All of these things are just a few of the literally countless blessings I have received while serving as a full-time missionary.
But let’s now focus into what I really love, the people who mean so much to me, and the gospel of Jesus Christ.
The Finns are the most amazing people I have ever met. I have been so privileged to live among them and to teach them the gospel. I learned in the MTC that the character of Christ is to look outside to others when the “natural man” (Mosiah 3:19, The Book of Mormon) would look inwards. I truly know that by looking outside ourselves in the very moments when we ourselves need help.
As Elder Neal L. Maxwell says, “Being blessed with hope…Let us reach to lift hands which hang helplessly down.” Brothers and Sisters, Friends, we have hope! We have hope in the gospel of Jesus Christ. We have hope in eternal life. We have hope in the remission of our sins. And we have hope in everlasting peace that comes from the well of living water, our Savior Jesus Christ. He is infinitely loving and I testify that because of His Atoning sacrifice He truly does know us, our sorrows, pains, hopes, ambitions, the thoughts and intentions of our hearts. And He can help us as well let Him into our lives.
I want to share a few brief stories of how people have done that.
Miracle number 1:
This week I gave my first school presentation as a missionary. We practiced well and welcomed a class full of 16-17 year-old students from a local high school’s religion class (almost all Finns take this class). The class was quiet, but helped us read the informational slides and a certain boy asked multiple questions. We were there to inform them, answer questions, and share our own experiences, but not to proselyte. At the end they were allowed to take a Book of Mormon and he did just that. It was so touching! I felt the Spirit strongly present and am so thankful for that experience. I have no doubt in my mind that that young boy will find the missionaries and join the Jesus Christ’s restored church one day!
Miracle number 2:
We were out contacting one night and needed to stop by at a local bathroom quickly, changing our course of path. We came back outside quickly and immediately started talking to people again. The first woman outside the parking lot said she didn’t speak English or Finnish, but asked “What church?” Normally the first thing out of my mouth is the church’s full name, but this time before I could stop myself, I blurted, “Mormon!” then quickly shared with her our full name. In an instant her entire countenance changed. She started speaking fluent English and told us she has been looking for our church for 2 years since she moved to Finland. Turns out she investigated the church in Idaho! She hugged us and we were all so happy!
Miracle 3:
We have been following up with many former investigators lately and I’ve always wondered what ever happened to that wonderful woman I once taught in this area one year ago when I came to serve here for the day. Well, Sister Roberts, wrote down some names, and she was one of them. We went to her house and a flood of amazing memories came back! I was so excited to find her again! But she wasn’t home. We tried back 3 days in a row and on the third day we pulled up to her house right as she was coming outside. God’s timing is perfect. Long story short, she remembered me and we are teaching her tonight!
I know this is the work our our Savior Jesus Christ and I would like to share my testimony in the language that means so much to me. ❤
Minä tiedän, että Jeesus Kristus on meidän kaikkien Vapahtajamme. Hän tuntee meidät täydellisesti ja henkilökohtaisesti. Hänen kautta me löydämme iankaikkinen rauha ja iloa. Meillä on rakastava Taivaallinen Isä joka on luonut meidät ja suunnitelman meitä kaikkia varten. Tiedän, että seuraamalla Jeesusta Kristusta tässä elämässä me olemme onnellisia riippumatta mitä tapahtuu tai ei tapahdu elämässämme. Taivaallinen Isämme haluaa olla meihin yhteydessä. Todistan, että me puhumme Hänen kanssaan rukouksessa ja lukemalla pyhiä kirjoituksia. Mormonin Kirja on totta. Todistan tästä kaikesta, Jeesuksen Kristuksen nimessä. Aamen.
Timothy says it well:

For am now ready to be offered, and the time of my departure is at hand.  have fought good fighthave finished my course, have kept the faith: (2 Timothy 4:6-7)

Finnishing with faith! I will always be a missionary. I love you all so very much!

Rakkaudellani,

Sisar Adams ❤

P.S.This Friday the church will release a new Easter video #PrinceofPeace. It’s amazing! Go on mormon.org and watch it and share it with all of your friends! 🙂

One of the many beautiful forests of Finland. :)

One of the many beautiful forests of Finland. 🙂

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Sister Roberts and I 🙂 We are a great companionship!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Finland!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Many many friends including a few recent converts at our farewell FHE last week

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Elders and Goodwill and us

Leave a Reply

